Skip to main content
Attendees and chat

View your list of attendees at any time and operate the chat.

Dewi avatar
Written by Dewi
Updated over a week ago

Attendance list

Use the sidebar on the right of the webinar room to view the list of attendees at any time.

Open the ‘Attendance’ tab and select the list you’d like to see: ‘Stage’ or ‘Everyone’.

Stage

The 'Stage’ tab is a list of the attendees currently on/off stage, invited to the stage and those that have requested to appear on stage. You can use this list to see and manage these attendees.

Attendees will disappear from this list as soon as they exit the webinar.

Please note! There is one exception to disappearing from the list; viewers that have been invited to the stage but never accepted the invitation will remain visible in this tab even when they exit the webinar.

You can read more about managing the stage from this tab in this article.

Everyone

The ‘Everyone’ tab is where you find a list of every attendee. You can use this list to ban attendees from the webinar, start conversations with them, open their details or invite viewers to the stage.

Hover over an attendee’s name and four buttons will appear.

  • Ban attendee from the webinar

    This option removes the attendee from the webinar and prevents them from re-entering. They will no longer be able to watch the webinar.

  • Start conversation

    This option starts a private conversation with the attendee, which can only be seen by the webinar team and the viewer in question.

  • View attendee details

    This option opens a window where you can find the attendee’s details.

  • Invite to stage

    This option allows you to invite the attendee to the stage, allowing them to toggle their camera and microphone and appear during the webinar. You can read more about inviting viewers to the stage here.

A green dot indicates that the attendee is online, while a red dot indicates that the attendee went offline.

The spotlight icon next to an attendee’s name indicates that they are either on stage or on standby off stage.

A gear icon next to webinar team members indicates that they are currently in the system check, shown prior to entering the webinarroom. This means that they are not yet visible, nor audible and cannnot see or hear other team members.

Webinar team member in system check

Filtering the attendee list

It may be difficult to keep track of all of your attendees if you have a particularly crowded webinar. This is why we allow you to filter the lists.

Open the ‘Everyone’ tab and click the icon with three lines at the top right.

This will open a menu with the filtering options. You can filter based on name, email and role. Click 'Apply filter' to filter the list.

To clear the filter, press the ‘x’ that appears at the top of the list next to the filter while it’s applied.

Banning viewers from the webinar

Open the ‘Attendance’ tab in the sidebar to access the list of viewers.

Look for the attendee you’d like to ban from the webinar and hover over their name, then click the ‘Ban attendee from webinar’ button.

This will kick the attendee out of the webinar and prevent them from reentering. They will no longer be able to watch the webinar or participate in the chat.

If an attendee has sent a message in the chat, you can also access the attendee menu from their chat message.

Operating chat

The chat is one of the most important features during live webinars.

Types of chat

  • Public chat

Open the ‘Chat’ tab to find the public chat and presenter chat. The public chat can be seen by everyone in the webinar, while the team chat can only be seen by your webinar team.

  • Private chat

Open the ‘Private chat’ tab to find the private conversations. These are conversations between one specific viewer and the webinar team. You can use the ‘Latest messages’ tab to quickly review which private conversations have new messages.

Enabling or disabling chat

Both the public and private chat can be enabled or disabled at any point in time during a webinar.

To enable a type of chat, open its tab and press the ‘Enable public/private chat’ button.

To disable a type of chat, open its tab and press the speech bubble with the slash through it at the top right.

Using the chat

Sending a message

Type a message in the text box and press 'Enter' on the keyboard to send it.

New messages

You can easily keep track of when you receive a new message through keeping an eye on the tabs, even if you don’t currently have the chat open. An indicator will let you know if you’ve received a new message (and how many).

Would you like to see the new private messages without finding the private conversations they’re from in your list? Check the ‘Latest messages’ tab in ‘Private chat’. This shows you the latest messages in private conversations along with their timestamps.

Please note! The ‘Latest messages’ tab does not include public chat messages.

Quoting chat messages

You can easily reply to questions and other messages by using the reply button. Hover over the message you want to reply to and click on 'Reply to message'. The quoted message will be visible in the chat box, including the original writer's name.

Please note! Deleted chat messages will be reflected as removed within any quotes that include the deleted content.

Removing chat messages

Did someone send a disruptive chat message? Don’t worry! It’s very simple to remove the message from your chat.

Hover over the chat message and six buttons will appear. Click on the bin icon to remove the message.

A window will appear asking you to confirm that you want to remove the message. Click ‘Remove’ and the message will be removed.

Pinning a message to the top of the chat

Is there an important message in the chat that everyone should be able to see, even when your viewers are actively using the chat? Pin it and it will appear at the top until removed.

Pinning a message is very simple.

  1. In the ‘Chat’ tab in the sidebar, hover over the message you want to pin

  2. Press the pin icon

The message is now pinned to the top of the public chat. This message can be collapsed and expanded with the arrow, so that you can hide it when you need more space for the public chat.

To change the pinned message, pin a new chat message and the newly chosen one will replace the current pinned message.

To remove the pinned message altogether, press the button with the crossed out pin icon.

Unpinning a message

Managing private conversations

Starting a new private conversation

Open the ‘Attendance’ tab in the sidebar to access the list of viewers.

Look for the attendee you’d like to start a private conversation with and hover over their name, then click the ‘Start conversation’ button.

You can also start a private conversation from the 'Chat' tab.

If a viewer sends a message and you'd like to answer their question in a private conversation instead, hover over their chat message and click on the speech bubble icon.

Unread messages

To make sure you don’t miss anything, private conversations with unread messages are marked by an orange indicator that shows the number of new messages and the time at which the latest one was sent.

Closing and re-opening conversations

It can be handy to have a way of marking conversations that have been finished when you receive a lot of messages during a busy webinar. That's why you can close conversations.

In a private conversation, click the three dots at the top. Click on ‘Close conversation’ to close the current conversation, which essentially marks the conversation as resolved.

If a conversation is closed, it will be specified like so:

To reopen a conversation, press the three dots at the top right and select ‘Re-open conversation’.

Assigning conversations

It may be difficult to keep track of who answers what when your webinar is particularly crowded and there are multiple moderators. Assigning conversations to specific team members is the solution to this problem.

In a private conversation, click the three dots at the top. A menu will appear with multiple options.

  • ‘Assign to me’ assigns the conversation to yourself.

  • The names of your fellow team members assign the conversation to the specified host.

  • ‘Unassign conversation’ unassigns the conversation from whoever it’s currently assigned to.

The blue dot in the menu indicates who the conversation is currently assigned to or if it's unassigned.

Filtering your conversations

It may be difficult to keep track of all of your private conversations if you have a particularly crowded webinar. That's why you can filter them based on their status.

Open the ‘Private chat’ tab and click the icon with three lines at the top right.

This will open a menu with the filtering options. Click on any of the options and the list of private conversations will be filtered.

Did this answer your question?